It’s Been A Long Time

5 Jun

We’ve been pretty busy in the past 6 months prepping our little house for a big new edition- a lil’ dude will be coming soon. We’ve been in each of our busy seasons at work as well so time is passing as quickly as it can when you’re growing a tiny human in your belly.

20140605-113300-41580381.jpg
I had a rough go at it in the first three months but fortunately the last couple have been much easier for me. However not feeling sick all day, everyday means that I have had plenty of time to do what pregnant women do best- eat. I’ve gained more than I would have liked to by now so it’s time to get better about what and how much food I’m putting in my body. Of course cooking and eating comfort food is more fun (at least for me) than ‘healthy’ food. So now it’s become important to me to try and reincorporate my healthy meals into my routine. Making eating healthy into something enjoyable is my new challenge (oh and getting the house ready for baby #2).

20140605-180733-65253126.jpg
Last night we grilled chicken breasts (that we marinated in Italian dressing for 30 minutes in the fridge) sliced some fresh mozzarella and Roma tomatoes sprinkled it with kosher salt and pepper and drizzled it with balsamic vinegar. I served it roasted asparagus that I had drizzled with extra virgin olive oil, and dashes of kosher salt and pepper. It’s quick, easy, doesn’t require too much prep, and is pretty healthy.

20140605-180817-65297073.jpg

20140605-180818-65298860.jpg
This morning I had some leftover egg whites from a new recipe I made earlier in the week so I decided to make us an egg white scramble. I took a good assortment of vegetables in my refrigerator and chopped them into small pieces. I used carrots, asparagus, zucchini, and spinach (which I wilted whole rather than chopping).
I heated extra virgin olive oil over medium heat in a medium frying pan and added the carrots, asparagus, and zucchini and sautéed them till just about tender, I added a clove of minced garlic and the spinach and sautéed until it had wilted. Once the vegetables were cooked, I added salt and pepper and poured in 8 egg whites. I cooked the eggs with the vegetables until cooked through. It was simple and light but filled me up on good stuff rather than my usual carb heavy breakfasts. This vegetable scramble can easily be made with any kind of vegetables you have on hand.

20140605-180907-65347710.jpg
For lunch today I made a spinach salad with sliced strawberries and sliced roasted almonds with a light honey Dijon dressing (I like Ken’s Steakhouse).

2 Responses to “It’s Been A Long Time”

  1. Aunt Lor June 5, 2014 at 8:50 pm #

    You are adorable and impressive! Oatmeal is as healthy as I can get in the morning. You good looks amazing though and I may try your scramble for lunch!
    Your photos of prep and finished meals are wonderful!
    xx

  2. Kathleen Miller June 6, 2014 at 7:49 am #

    Too funny, I was just thinking of your raspberry and spinach salad the other day. Will have to try it with strawberries some time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

