What I Love Now

28 Oct

I love roasting vegetables, I don’t know how I ate veggies before discovering this amazing form of cooking- o wait, I avoided stand alone vegetables back then. If it wasn’t mixed in with something else or a green bean I was like not into it (think valley-girl speak). Well ever since roasting vegetables rocked my world I have been regularly enjoying a bounty of delicious and nutritious vegetables. This is the perfect time of year to enjoy seasonal favorites roasted, carrots, butternut squash, pumpkin, Brussels sprouts,  etc the possibilities are endless!

I personally used to hate carrots until I started roasting them and now they are one of my go-to sides. Carrots have a ton of vitamin A which is great for sight. Brussels sprout? Yea, I avoided that like the plague until about a year ago because frankly, I thought they were weird and smelled a little funny. NO, its not true, they are delicious and crazy nutritious. Brussels sprouts have chemicals called indole-3-carbinol which may help to prevent cancerous cell growth. I will literally eat these leftover roasted sprouts all by themselves, even cold right out of the fridge. Butternut squash is so amazing when it’s roasted, it is definitely my favorite way to cook it. Butternut squash is insanely difficult to cut up (so purchasing chopped and prepared fresh packages is great) but they contain a ton of fiber, vitamin C, vitamin A, vitamin E, and potassium.

Roasting vegetables couldn’t be easier also, see below for my tips.

Carrots

IMG_2391 IMG_2395
For carrots, I either trim them and then cut them into planks like you can see above or I will halve them and make them into chunks about 2 1/2 inches long. I try to lie them flat in the baking dish so that everyone will cook evenly. I usually toss them with a drizzle of olive oil, sprinkle of salt and pepper, place them in a preheated over at 400 degrees for 20 minutes until softened and in some places browned.

Brussels sprouts
IMG_2544

IMG_2545

For Brussels Sprouts I like to trim their ‘stem’, remove any unsightly or yellowed leaves, then cut them in half and rinse them using a colander. I toss them with salt and pepper and olive oil as well and try to have them all in a single layer. I place them in a preheated 400 degree oven for 20 minutes as well, they should be tender (you can stick a fork in it) and browned where the olive oil coated them.

Butternut squash
IMG_3078

IMG_3080

IMG_3093

For butternut squash I peeled the skin off, then chopped the squash into smaller even pieces. tossed with salt, pepper, a dash of nutmeg, and olive oil. Roasted them in a preheated 400 degree oven for 35-40 minutes until tender (check by sticking a fork in it).

Roasting is easy since you literally just cut things up and put it in the oven, no occasional stirring or keeping your eye on it which frees you up for other cooking tasks. Hopefully you will start loving roasted veggies and up your intake of these valuable nutrients.

One Response to “What I Love Now”

  1. Kathleen Miller October 28, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

    They all look so appetizing – can’t wait to eat some!

Leave a Reply

