Project Time

25 Oct

When I was in high school I had a column in our school newspaper called “Sports For Idiots” and each month I would review a new sport and give basic information about the sport. I would write about the general rules, how many points are scored for each goal, home run, touchdown, etc, how many players on the court, field, ice, etc, and explained some common lingo so that the uninformed can gain a general working knowledge of the sport and understand and perhaps enjoy better the sporting events they watch. It was definitely my favorite running column that I wrote.

I think my experience doing this has prepared me for my new gig as the Financial Literacy person in my office. Having the ability to help totally uninformed people to gain important knowledge that will benefit them profoundly is apparently my thing. I am working to help our students gain the skills that will allow them to make responsible well informed choices about their financial future and it has given me a new sense of purpose in my sometimes mundane job. I am pretty excited about this if you can’t tell :).

dos-equis-meme

3 Responses to “Project Time”

  1. Kathleen Miller October 25, 2013 at 2:02 pm #

    I’m glad you’re so excited about this new responsibility at work – I know you’ll do an amazing job! 🙂

  2. Lorene Sexton October 25, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

    Saaweeet!

    Financial responsibility is sooo important but they can’t achieve it if they don’t have the basic information. I think you are just the one to help them get that so go forth and educate girl!

    It can change so many lives.

Leave a Reply

