Making The Most Of It

24 Oct

As the holidays approach I have been paying a little more attention to how much I’m spending and on what. One area that I know we have an issue with over spending is definitely on food. I’ve been making an effort to be smarter about menu planning over the weekend as well as making dinners that will stretch into two nights or I can take leftovers for lunch the next day.
While I was making my delicious lasagna soup I realized that my package of Italian turkey sausage was going to make much more than I needed, but I didn’t know how long I could store it before it would go bad. I decided to brown it up (breaking it up with a spoon) in a small frying pan with just olive oil over medium heat. I also only had four more lasagna noodles left in my package after I was done with the soup and felt silly about storing just a couple so I boiled them according to the package. I had extra mozzarella cheese from the soup, extra ‘everything’ veggie pasta sauce (which I always do because I have a difficult time figuring out portions for only two people). I happened to have ricotta cheese which I had planned to use in another recipe later but I only needed a little. I checked out Pinterest for the layering and storage and decided that it would be quite delish to make lasagna roll ups for a later date. It was so easy, allowed me to use the leftover ingredients I had from my original meal, and make a great pop-in-the-oven meal for another day.

20131024-201359.jpg
Lasagna Roll Ups
Ingredients:
4 Lasagna noodles cooked per package instructions
1/2 cup ricotta cheese
1/2 cup Italian turkey sausage casings removed, crumbled and cooked
3/4 cup shredded mozzarella
1 cup tomato pasta sauce
Directions:
Take this noodle by noodle. Place noodle on a surface that it can lie flat.

20131024-180228.jpg
Spoon and spread ricotta evenly over noodle.

20131024-180315.jpg
Spoon sausage crumbles even over ricotta.

20131024-180417.jpg
Sprinkle shredded mozzarella over meat and cheese.

20131024-180512.jpg
Spoon pasta sauce over cheese and meat.

20131024-180558.jpg
Roll noodle and stuffing up ‘jelly roll’ style.

20131024-180653.jpg
Repeat with all other noodles.

20131024-180742.jpg
Top all with sauce and more mozzarella cheese.

20131024-180858.jpg
I decided to freeze mine for later but you can either heat these in the microwave for a minute on high or in the oven at 350 for 5-10 minutes until cheese is melted and the rolls are heated through. If frozen, they should be fully defrosted before reheating.
I like roll ups because you can make less than a full pan if you desire and even though you use your hands it’s less messy than a traditional lasagna.

One Response to “Making The Most Of It”

  1. Kathleen Miller October 26, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

    Way to be thrifty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

