BBQ Turkey Meatloaf

16 Oct

So here’s the deal, meat loaf can be kinda gross. I was never a fan, like at all, when I was growing up. It just seemed like a mutant blob of blah. However, I can say that today I feel differently because of my BBQ Turkey Meatloaf. It’s super tasty, flavorful, tender, and saves easily for left overs- what’s not to like?
This recipe came about actually after an epic fail of trying to make a more traditional beef meatloaf. I won’t go into what exactly happened but I believe the words: cardboard and bland may have been thrown around and I do recall my husband politely choking it down. I don’t usually take epic failures lying down. I just had to redeem myself! And I did just that with this recipe.

20131015-211123.jpg
BBQ Turkey Meatloaf
Ingredients:
1 lb ground turkey meat
1 teaspoon meat magic seasoning (chef Paul Prudhomme)
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 egg lightly beaten
1 1/2 cups BBQ sauce
1 clove garlic crushed
1/2 medium yellow onion finely chopped
1 carrot finely chopped
1 medium zucchini finely chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt and ground black pepper
1 1/2 cups plain bread crumbs

20131015-211303.jpg

20131015-211338.jpg

20131015-211416.jpg

20131015-211448.jpg

20131015-211520.jpg

20131015-211618.jpg

20131015-211719.jpg

20131015-211804.jpg

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix BBQ sauce, meat magic seasoning, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, garlic and egg in a medium bowl. In a sauce pan heat olive oil over medium and heat, sauté vegetables with salt and pepper until tender. Remove from heat and allow to cool for a couple minutes. Add vegetables to wet mix and combine. Place ground turkey in a large bowl and pour wet mix over meat, add bread crumbs and mix with your hands. Separate into four equal sections and shape into oblong ovals on a non stick sprayed glass baking dish(es), not touching. Top all loaves with additional BBQ sauce. Bake for 30 minutes, add more BBQ sauce to the top of loaves, continue to bake for another 10 minutes or until cooked through.

I decided to make mine with my very favorite new mashed potato recipe by the Pioneer Woman- I honestly cannot get enough, and frankly what’s better with meatloaf than mashed potatoes?!

20131015-212206.jpg
I love this meatloaf because it’s so full of flavor, it’s moist, and frankly delicious!

Leave a Reply

