The Dreamiest Rice Pudding

30 Sep

First, welcome October, I didn’t see you sneaking up on me… where did September go?? I love how everyone is stepping it up on the fall front, from decorating to baking to checking out the local farm’s Harvest Festival, which opened last weekend. I just wish it was slightly cooler out, it’s a tad too warm for my taste midday but the evenings are definitely starting to get chilly and that leads me to want more cozy dinners and treats.

I happen to be a big fan of comfort food, if you couldn’t tell. When you are in the mood for a sweet treat on a chilly evening (or pretty much any time) one of the most delightful desserts in my opinion is Dreamy Creamy Rice Pudding. This recipe is slightly adapted from my mom’s recipe, I added heavy cream to the recipe to make it that much more amazing.
In my last post I mentioned some of the things I do to help me get home cooked dinners on the table after work midweek. I used another to help me make The Pioneer Woman’s Spicy Stewed Beef with Creamy Cheddar Grits by cooking the beef (which takes 3 hours to prepare) on Sunday afternoon (yesterday) and storing in the fridge overnight and then reheating it on the stove top while I was making the grits.

20130930-220309.jpg
It was really tasty, I love the grits especially. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, that Pioneer Woman, she really knows what’s up! I could only hope to be as clever and creative as her one day.
After a delicious dinner I was in a mood for dessert, the possibilities were nearly endless. I considered chocolate chip cookies, bundt cake, brownies, etc but the only option that sounded truly amazing was rice pudding. I love rice pudding with it’s gentle sweetness and creaminess that cannot be beat. I like this particular recipe because it doesn’t involve multiple pots and baking dishes like most, it’s relatively quick, and requires few ingredients. This dessert is wonderful chilled or served warm, it just feels like home.

Dreamy Creamy Rice Pudding
3-4 servings
Ingredients:
2 cups heavy cream
1 cup whole milk
1/2 cup medium grain white rice
1/4 cup white sugar
1 tablespoon butter
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Ground cinnamon for dusting

20130930-222553.jpg
Directions:

 Add milk, rice, sugar, butter, vanilla, and salt to a 3-quart saucepan.
 Over medium low heat, heat milk mixture until tiny bubbles  form around the edge, stirring mixture frequently (about 5 minutes).
 Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer 40 minutes or until rice is very tender, stirring occasionally. (about every 10 minutes). Do not leave unattended, this can and will boil over and make a huge mess on your stove top if left unattended. If you see it bubbling up and starting to try to escape the pot remove the lid and stir. When done the rice should be tender, it should be thickened and not overly liquidy.
Transfer to a bowl, dust with ground cinnamon. Allow to cool for about 5 minutes and serve warm.

20130930-223116.jpg
This is like a hug in a bowl, I love it and I hope you do too!

One Response to “The Dreamiest Rice Pudding”

  1. Kath October 1, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

    Ooh…substituting heavy cream in place of some of the milk is brilliant! I’ll have to try that next time I make it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

