Sunday Roast

19 Sep

We were lucky enough recently to have all of our schedules align so that we could have our good friends over for dinner this past weekend. I wanted to make sure to make something delicious and really special for dinner.
IMG_2415
I spent a better part of an afternoon figuring out what the perfect Sunday dinner would be for our guests. I settled on a recipe which I found on multiple blogs and every single one had nothing but rants and raves about how amazing Crock Pot Balsamic Pot Roast was. Now I am not one who typically uses my crock pot because I have this strange mistrust of it, like I have to watch it constantly to make sure that it’s not going to like burst into flames which I am constantly laughed at over. I know so many people who are in love with their slow cookers and use them all the time. I got mine 3 years ago and have only used it twice. Since I have been meaning to give it another try and have faith that it will not burn my house down if I leave the house while it’s on (I am someone who unplugs unnecessary things and turns everything switch off any time I am leaving the house) I thought this would be a great opportunity. I downloaded the recipe from My Chic Life With Rachel Hollis.

Balsamic Pot Roast

Ingredients:
4-5 lb chuck roast
2 cups beef broth/stock
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp kosher salt
3 cloves crushed garlic
zest of 1/2 orange

IMG_2342
Directions:
Place meat in slow cooker, combine all other ingredients in a medium bowl and pour over meat. Cook on low for 6-8 hours.
*I omitted red potatoes like the recipes call for since all recipes also listed that they served theirs with mashed potatoes so I did as well.
IMG_2338
IMG_2340IMG_2341IMG_2348IMG_2350IMG_2358IMG_2362IMG_2365

While the pot roast was cooking away I had plenty of time to work on the other elements of my dinner: Roasted Carrots, Pioneer Woman’s Mashed Potatoes, and Rosemary Rolls.
The Pioneer Woman just knows her stuff- I have tried SO many of her recipes and not one has ever turned out less than perfection! Find her recipe here: Mashed Potatoes.

IMG_2397IMG_2405IMG_2407IMG_2408IMG_2417
I peeled and cut up my carrots, tossed them with olive oil, salt and pepper and placed them in a preheated 400 degree oven until tender- approximately 25 minutes.
IMG_2391IMG_2418
I made rosemary rolls out of fresh pizza dough (Trader Joes is the best) cut into fourths, sprinkled rosemary and kneaded, then I spread olive oil and crushed garlic on the top and baked in my 400 degree oven for approximately 15 minutes.
IMG_2413
The finished product was delicious and I couldn’t have been happier with the results. I’m working on my trust issues with my crock pot, but if it can produce a main dish like this- it must be doing something right!
IMG_2421

IMG_2422

One Response to “Sunday Roast”

  1. Kathleen Miller September 19, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

    The whole meal looks so appetizing! The meat you shared was moist and delicious smelling – Dad really enjoyed it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

