Tortilla Soup

18 Jun

In my humble opinion, chicken tortilla soup is the perfect meal. I love the stuff. And the weird part is that I never tried it until about a year ago, and when I did, it was LOVE at first sip! There are so many recipes out there that you can follow and adapt, there’s creamy thick ones and ones that are broth based, which are the ones I prefer. I first tried to make tortilla soup after watching The Pioneer Woman make it on her Food Network Show. I adore her and she never misses the mark when it comes to all recipes she makes. I adapted The Pioneer Woman’s recipe to fit my likes: extra veggies, etc. If I could make this everyday, I probably would! And my hubby would love that too, he is obsessed with this soup. Whenever friends ask me for my favorite recipes, this is always included. This may seem like a lot of ingredients, but it’s really simple and so delicious! I hope everyone gives it a try and loves it as much as we do! Here is what I do:

20130618-110947.jpg

Chicken Tortilla Soup

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 sweet yellow onion chopped

1 green bell pepper chopped

1 red bell pepper chopped

2 carrots chopped

2 zucchini quartered

1 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1 & 1/2 teaspoons cumin powder

32 oz. organic chicken broth

1 rotisserie chicken shredded (or two cooked chicken breasts shredded)

1 15 oz can of black beans drained

1 can of diced tomatoes and green chilis (I too like Rotel for this)

1/2 cup frozen corn kernels

1/2 lime juiced

For toppings:

Shredded cheddar cheese

Chopped onion

Cilantro

Sour cream

Tortilla Strips (see below for recipe)

*You can make this vegetarian by taking out the chicken and substituting chicken broth for vegetable broth.

In a large pot heat olive oil over medium heat, add chopped carrots, onion, peppers, and zucchini and cook until tender, about 5-7 minutes. In a small bowl combine the three spices, cumin, garlic powder and chili powder, mix together and then add to vegetable mixture. Add diced tomatoes with green chilies and drained black beans and stir to combine. Add in shredded chicken and chicken broth, bring mixture up to a low boil and then reduce to simmer. Add frozen corn kernels and let simmer until corn is heated through, about 5 minutes. Before serving add lime juice. I like to add the tortilla strips straight to the individual bowl, but you can add them to the entire soup pot if desired (you will notice that I used regular tortilla chips because I ran out of corn tortillas yesterday).

Tortilla Strips:

Take 4 small corn tortillas and brush each with vegetable oil on both sides, then take a pizza cutter (or knife if you don’t have a pizza cutter) and cut them into about 1-2 inch by 1/2 inch strips. Spread them out evenly on a foil lined baking sheet (do not let them overlap) and sprinkle with salt (you can also squirt a little lime juice too). Place them in a preheated 350 degree oven and bake for 12-15 minutes until crispy. I am obsessed with these too, I cannot get enough. There is such a difference between store bought chips/strips and home baked.

20130618-110750.jpg

20130618-110805.jpg

20130618-110827.jpg

20130618-110836.jpg

20130618-110847.jpg

20130618-110905.jpg

3 Responses to “Tortilla Soup”

  1. taste of colours June 18, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

    looks amazing

Leave a Reply

