Party Prep, Taste Test

29 May

A lot of people collect all different kinds of things, I collect cookbooks. I love cookbooks, I read them the way and with the same enjoyment that one would read a novel. And one of my very favorite chef/authors is Ina Garten, The Barefoot Contessa. I have almost all cookbooks that she has written and I find them to be some of the most delicious recipes out there as well as full of great tips and tricks. When it comes to party planning one of Ina’s biggest suggestions for success is to make sure that you try out your recipes before you make them the day of the party. This is very sound advice. And when discussing our menu options for our party, I look primarily to the Barefoot Contessa for inspiration and decided to do a little trial run of some of the dishes I planned to make.

I did a lot of vegetarian dishes (minus the spicy sweet turkey meatballs which I just used a package of meatballs with a cup of BBQ sauce, a can of pineapple chunks and a couple dashes of hot sauce and cooked in the oven per the package instructions) because our guests for the evening were both vegetarians. I made my spin on Barefoot Contessa’s Panzanella Salad, Confetti Corn, White Cheddar and Carmalized Onions on Hawaiian rolls (from Barefoot Contessa Parties!), a store bought artichoke and pequilla pepper bruschetta,  and Kelsey’s Essential’s Vanilla Almonds. In the summer I love to have vintage candy and things from our childhoods so I got a bunch of peppermint salt water taffy and served ice cream sandwiches and S’more’s Crack Dip for dessert- and yes, it’s just as amazing as you imagine it to be! The dinner was a success and the new recipes are definitely going to be used again. 

buffet1.jpg buffet2.jpg buffet4.jpg buffet5.jpg buffet6.jpg buffet7.jpg buffet8.jpg buffet9.jpg buffet10.jpg

One Response to “Party Prep, Taste Test”

  1. Kath May 29, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

    Looks yummy – glad you guys had a good time 🙂

Leave a Reply

