Gallery

Street Fair Treat

15 May

Our town was having a street fair over Mother’s Day weekend which in the past had been something I would avoid, the crowds, the traffic, the whole ordeal of it all. But this year is different, this year I have made a huge effort to not only do things that were outside my comfort zone but also to have what I call ‘family adventure days’ in which we spend time most weekends doing something new with Madeline (or if not new, at least something family and kid-centric) so this weekend when I saw that there was going to be a street fair only a couple blocks from our house I was intrigued. The advertisement said there would be food and local vendors, “food?!” I thought to myself, “I like food”. It was decided. Since we already had a jam packed weekend I knew we needed to go early which was a good thing since it turned out to be almost 100 degrees which is not typical of Mother’s Day weekend in our area.

The street was lined with vendor tents and colorful merchandise, aromas of tasty treats like hot dogs and kettle corn. There were many community and local organizations promoting their businesses and religious or political interests, and upcoming events. We received many coupons and freebies to try out new things like gymnastics classes for our daughter, a pediatric dentist, beauty salons, etc. Madeline was quite excited to receive two balloons from a pre-school and after school program in town. I, of course was on the hunt for something tasty, I settled on one of my most favorite treats – kettle corn and I also  had a sweet and tangy ‘homemade’ lemonade. I loved the sign shop that was selling handmade wooden signs and metal vintage signs, we purchased a “Ventura” sign for our daughter’s beach-themed bathroom, I also bought a (probably overpriced) soy candle that smelled amazing. Despite the heat we had a great time walking around, seeing all the vendors, running into people we knew, and sampling some treats. Here are some pictures from our family outing.
DSC04434 ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? DSC04441 ??????????????????????????????? DSC04444 ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? DSC04452 ???????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

