Image

Veggie Chili Goodness

1 Apr

Veggie Chili Goodness

I love chili, I love the warm, cozy feeling it gives you. I also love that it’s super easy and my recipe is relatively fast from start to finish. I love it all alone, over pasta, over rice, over a baked potato, with chips, etc. I pretty much just love it. Before the Veg Project I also would add in a pound of ground turkey that I browned with a little olive oil and then added the rest of the ingredients per the directions below. I have adapted an old recipe that my mom used to make when I was growing up, it’s got a lot more kick than mom’s and some move veggies as well (just the way I like it!).

IMG_1177

IMG_1180IMG_1181IMG_1182IMG_1186IMG_1189

Veggie Chili

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil

½ yellow onion chopped

1 red bell pepper chopped

1 green bell pepper chopped

1 15 oz. can chili beans

1 15 oz. can black beans

1 15 oz. can great north beans (drained and rinsed)

1-1/2 teaspoon cumin powder

½ teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 teaspoon kosher salt

½ tablespoon ground black pepper

2 cloves crushed garlic

Toppings:

Chopped cilantro

Sour cream

Shredded cheddar cheese

Tortilla chips/strips

Chopped red onion

Instructions:

Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add in chopped onions and bell peppers, sauté over till vegetables are tender (not browned) about 4-5 minutes. Stir in chili beans (with liquid), black beans (with liquid), great north beans (drained and rinsed), add in chili powder, garlic powder, and cumin, crushed garlic, salt and pepper. Turn heat down to simmer, allow flavors to develop for about 15 minutes and then add frozen corn. Continue cooking for about 10 minutes till corn is fully cooked through. Serve hot with any of listed toppings above. (I like it with cheddar, cilantro, sour cream, & chips!)

Leave a Reply

