The Veg Project: mid week update

26 Mar

                                                                  “animals are friends not food!”

It’s starting to stick with me again, I am now about a week and a half into the three week vegetarian challenge I entered into with my bestie, Stephanie. Stephanie, our friend Danielle, and I all watched (at different times) the documentary Vegucation that follows three meat eating individuals around Manhattan (and out to some farms) while they take a 6-week challenge to eat Vegan only foods. Danielle is taking the same challenge, Stephanie and I are challenging ourselves to eating only vegetarian. I call it “The Veg Project”.

Thus far it’s been a good ride, I have missed a couple meat meals, looking through my cookbooks I have had to stop myself when I thought “oh that chicken tortilla soup is great, I want to make that” and think to myself, can I make this vegetarian? That’s the great thing about eating vegetarian is that so many meals are easy to just take the meat out. Sub in some extra veggies, maybe some tofu, portabello mushrooms if you want a ‘meaty’ flavor, or even a meatless burger for your run of the mill beef, chicken, turkey, lamb, duck, etc.

I think that it must be much easier than trying Vegan. For anyone know doesn’t know the difference, according to wikipedia a vegetarian is: “Vegetarianism is the practice of abstaining from the consumption of meat – red meatpoultryseafood and the flesh of any other animal; it may also include abstention from by-products of animal slaughter, such as animal-derived rennet and gelatin” (although I eat seafood because I am a Pesco-Lacto-Ovo vegetarian, meaning I eat seafood, dairy and eggs). The definition of Vegan in Wikipedia is: “Veganism is the practice of abstaining from the use of animal products, particularly in diet, as well as an associated philosophy that rejects the commodity status of sentient animals.” Part of the reason I think that it would be very hard to be Vegan is that I live in a suburb in the LA area and there are not a whole lot of health food stores that offer these kinds of options and we are definitely lacking Vegetarian or Vegan restaurants as well. When I was in college in Santa Cruz, CA it probably would have been really easy. I often frequented the Saturn Cafe in the downtown area that was a Vegan restaurant and there were many other options. However here there are barely any options.

It’s actually really funny to tell people that you are a vegetarian or a vegan, a lot of people don’t understand why you would not want to eat meat. I think it’s funny because I am not a person who goes out into the world telling people that they need to stop eating meat or yelling “meat is murder”, for me it’s a personal choice that I make for myself. I may tell people this is what I am doing but in no way am I telling people that this is the right lifestyle and that they should do it as well. But I have found some people in my life who have done the opposite when I tell them that I am not eating meat or at times stopped eating red meat, they have interrogated me as to why I would do that, told me that they thought that was stupid or ridiculous. I don’t feel that I need to justify my reasons behind my [healthy] lifestyle. For this reason I let my husband know that I am not advertising this change to our family at this time. piggies are friends, not food!

One Response to “The Veg Project: mid week update”

  1. Kath March 26, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

    Well, you will get no argument from this side – in fact, I am feeling the lure of being a vegetarian again. Why anyone would feel the need to interrogate, much less criticize your choice is beyond ridiculous. Go you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

